EC&DCC LogoThe main purposes of community councils are to ascertain and express the views of the community to local authorities and other public bodies, and to take action which appears to the community council to be in the interests of its community.

The local authority, in return, has a duty to consult community councils on how local services are delivered and other issues affecting their neighbourhoods. Community councils have the right to be consulted on any planning applications in their areas and are also kept informed about licensing applications.

Community councils were introduced through the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973. The Act defined the purpose of a community council as:
"to ascertain, co-ordinate and express to the Local Authorities for its area and to public authorities the views of the community which it represents, in relation to matters for which those authorities are responsible."


Key Objectives:

  • to take such action in the interests of the community as appears to it to be desirable and practicable;
  • to promote the well-being of the community and to foster a community spirit; to be a means whereby the people of the area shall be able to voice their opinions on any matter affecting their lives, their welfare, their environment, its development and amenity.


To see a map of the area covered by East Calder & District Community Council, please view this page.



The members of the community council are:

  • Michelle Herron (Chair)
  • Chris Davidson (Vice Chair)
  • Ian Jackson (Treasurer)
  • Elizabeth Rae (Secretary)
  • Kenny Ireland
  • Neil Lovett
  • Alan Wright (Associate)
  • Caroline Wright
  • David Ogg
  • David Philip
  • Willie Dunn